Between the roughly 66.5 million people in the UK, there are about 37 million motor vehicles. According to the World Bank, one in every two people in Britain owns a car. These are staggering numbers and if left unsupervised could very well lead to chaos on the streets. That’s why MOT test is ever so important.

Back in 1960, the then Minister of Transport, Ernest Marples, announced that the vehicles running on the roads of Britain, which were over ten years of age, had to take an annual test to make sure that they were roadworthy. Initially, MOT tested only brakes, steering and lights.

Eventually, the age of the vehicles to be tested was brought down to three years and a host of other components were added to the list. Although, the fundamental principle of the test remained the same - determining whether the vehicles on the UK’s streets are roadworthy or not.

There are different classes of MOT dedicated to different types of vehicles. If you have a passenger car, it’ll fall under a Class 4 MOT whereas private passenger vehicles, motor caravans, ambulances, and dual-purpose vehicles come under Class 5 MOT. Also, if you own a goods vehicle between 3 and 3.5 tonnes, you will need to take it for a Class 7 MOT. Central Point MOT Centre Coventry is one of the most trusted MOT test centres in and around Coventry.

What constitutes a Class 4 MOT?

The number of checks included in an MOT has increased over the years. As and when the requirement arises, new things were added to the list. The latest example would be the addition of tyre pressure, fluid leaks and windshield washers from May 2018.

All in all, MOT check the following things:

  • Lights (headlights, fog lights, indicators and brake lights)
  • Tyres (proper inflation, damage and tread depth)
  • Brakes (including brake pads and pedals)
  • Steering
  • Driver’s view of the road (windscreen, wipers and mirrors)
  • Suspension system
  • Safety equipment (seat belts, airbags etc.)
  • Exhaust (including visible emissions and fuel leak)
  • Horn
  • Battery (overall condition and leaks)
  • VPN display

Engine, transmission and clutch are exempted from an MOT test Coventry and elsewhere in Britain. Other than that, all critical components concerning your vehicle’s drivability will be checked during an MOT test.

What constitutes a Class 5 MOT?

Class 5 MOT tests check the same components which are tested in Class 4 tests. However, it differs in the method of testing. For example –

  • Brakes efficiency should be calculated by multiplying the number of passenger seats by (140lbs) and then adding that to the unladen weight.
  • A vehicle should have windscreens and windows made from safety glass on either side of the driver’s seat.
  • The car tyres should be rated for speeds up to 70mph.
  • Class 5 MOT also includes inspection of driving controls like the clutch, accelerator, gear selector, engine stop, etc.

What constitutes a Class 7 MOT?

Class 7 MOT is for goods vehicle between 3,001kg and 3,500kg, including category N1 vehicles. In this case, the test checks the same parameters included in Class 4 and Class 5 MOT tests. However, the braking efficiency requirement varies for this heavier class.

The locking force of the wheels should be at least 100kg force at each rear wheel if the car is a two-axle vehicle. If it’s a three-axle vehicle, it should carry 50kg force at each rear wheel. Also, the actual Design Gross Weight (DGW) should be 2,600kg if the presented weight is less than 2,000kg.

Where can you take the MOT test?

If you are a new test taker and do not know where to head for your MOT test, there’s nothing to worry. There are over 20,000 garages spread across Britain that are authorised to take an MOT test. We are sure there is one in your neighbourhood as well.

For the people of Coventry, Central Point MOT Centre is a natural choice. Our years of quick and efficient service have made us one of the preferred destinations for hundreds of MOT test takers every year.

What happens if you fail the MOT?

Well, that depends on which category your failure comes under. According to new MOT guidelines, a vehicle taking the MOT test will fall under one of these three categories:

  • Dangerous

If there is a significant problem with your car that can potentially compromise the safety of yourself and others on the road, it’ll be deemed ‘dangerous’. You are to repair your vehicle on the spot if that happens. The test centre is obligated not to let you drive away until the fault(s) has been repaired.

  • Major

Your vehicle is still unsafe to drive, but now you have the liberty of taking it to another garage for repairing. Mind you, a ‘major’ tag still renders your vehicle un-drivable according to the law, and you will face penalties if you are caught roaming around in it.

  • Minor

Your vehicle is roadworthy. However, there are some minor issues that you should consider repairing as soon as possible, lest they become something more significant.

If you feel that you have wrongly failed your MOT, you can appeal to the DVSA within 14 days of taking the test. The DVSA will arrange for another inspection within five days in such a scenario.

What happens if you drive without an MOT certificate?

The road authorities in Britain are quite particular about MOT certificates. If your MOT has expired or otherwise invalid, it’s illegal to drive on UK’s streets. You can be fined a hefty amount (up to £2,500) and handed three penalty points against your license.

MOT check Coventry, and in the UK as a whole, can be a bit of a hassle sometimes. However, it exists to keep you and your loved ones safe on the road. It is your responsibility as a citizen of this great country to make sure that your vehicle doesn’t pose a threat to anyone on the road, or the environment. It’s always better to be safe than sorry.

Have a safe drive!

For more information and quotes